cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon SX50 consistently out of focus pictures

KSL23232323
Apprentice

I bought the Canon SX50 Power Shot about 4 months ago and have taken at least 8000 photos in that time.  Mostly birds and wild life.  I understand apppeture, Shuter speed and ISO for the most part and typically use the manual option.  The auto mode usually doesn't give me a high enough shutter speed for my subjects.

I am so frustrated with this camera at this point.  I can't believe how poor most of the photos are.  I have the IS set at continous and most photos are taken at the full 1200 mm.

If I try the continous shooting it is slow and clunky.  And doesn't capture what I want.

I realize I am new at this but I am missing something.  I have thought of selling the camera and getting something different but I love not having to change lenses and the nice zoom.

I have attached a couple of untouched images.  None of which are the nice crisp photos I am after and I am definitely unable to print anything (espically if the ISO is too high)IMG_0195.JPGIMG_9404.JPG. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

I had another image I wanted to upload but its too big.  I have no idea how to change its size.

14 REPLIES 14

John_
Authority

I suggest you look at this guys lessons and he uses the SX50HS too. I think there are 15 lessons and he goes into every aspect of the SX50HS. I have the SX50 also and I get great pictures there a some limitations but I have fund them yet.

So really this guy is a pprofeesional photographer and I bet his lesson on the focusing aspect will solve your problems

There are lots of thing that can effect focus I use P mode with focus set to flexizone and move the focus square to an area in the subject with enough detail to focus on

Anyway heres the link for those lessons I doubt you ownt find them helpfull

https://www.youtube.com/user/MWESTPhotography