cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

old i960 printer

lowellgray
Apprentice

Hello. I have a Canon I960 printer that I have been using for many years running windows xp thru 8.1 with no problems. I had to close my office so i moved it to my home office running windows 10. The printer while on 8.1 was not used for over a year and went thru very cold and possible freezing conditions. When i connected it to windows 10 I got the five flashing yellow lights. I went on eBay and purchased a print head but with all new ink nothing is printed. I think I have the original cd but when i tried to use it i got message that OS does not support it so I got the driver from Canon support for windows 7. Any thoughts or should i junk the printer?

2 REPLIES 2

Patrick
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi lowellgray,

Because replacing the printhead did not clear the error, your i960 would require service.

You are eligible for Canon's Upgrade Program.  This is for out of warranty units which have been diagnosed to require service, or for some reason are incompatible with a new or upgraded system.  This option allows you a one-time opportunity to purchase a replacement product, discounted from the list price.

To help you get up and running quickly, we also offer free standard shipping (if the order is completed by 12:30PM ET).  If you would like to take part in this option, please call our Sales Department at (866) 443-8002 seven days a week, 8am to Midnight.  Let them know you have been working with technical support and the Canon Upgrade Program was offered.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

hVYTOYS
Contributor

windows 10 has compatibility mode just like every version since win 7 ultimate.  you can install it using this in compatiblity mode for windows xp.