Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 749
Registered: ‎09-30-2013

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Hi Reba.

 

Thank you for your response.

 

To verify if another program may be causing a conflict with the MF Toolbox installation, please place the computer in 'Selective Start Up' mode, and then try the installation again. To place the computer in this mode, please follow the instructions below:

 

1. Press the Windows key and 'x'.

 

2. Select 'Run'.

 

3. In the Run window type: Msconfig

 

4. Select OK. If the UAC window opens, type in your password and select OK.

 

5. In the System Properties screen, choose 'Selective Start Up'.

 

6. Uncheck the box labeled 'Load Start Up Items'.

 

7. Click Apply.

 

8. Under the Services Tab, click on 'Hide all Microsoft Services' at the bottom of the window just above the OK button.

 

9. Click 'Disable All'.

 

10. Click Apply.

 

11. Click Close.

 

12. Restart the computer.

 

After reinstalling the MF Toolbox please return the computer to the 'Normal Start Up' mode by following steps 1- 5 from above. However, this time, select 'Normal Start Up' in Step 5. Next, click apply, and then restart the computer.

 

If you are still unable to reinstall the MF Toolbox, it is recommended that you call us at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666) for further assistance.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I have a MF4550d, and recently upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10.

 

I can no longer scan using the MF Toolbox utility.   I had MF Toolbox 4.9 installed before the upgrade, and it worked just fine.  After the upgrade, I get "Cannot communicate with the scanner" error dialog:

 

Error1.png

Please can you provide a fix.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I have a MF4550d, and recently upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10.

 

I can no longer scan using the MF Toolbox utility.   I had MF Toolbox 4.9 installed before the upgrade, and it worked just fine.  After the upgrade, I get "Cannot communicate with the scanner" error dialog.

 

Please can you provide a fix.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-07-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Hi,

This is what worked for our office full of computers when we also got the "cannot communicate" error.

 

Click the search/cortana button in the taskbar, search for "services" (also found in the administrative tools in the control panel) right click on the "Windows Image Aquisition" and click properties, click on the log on tab, and change it to local system account and check the box to allow it to interact with desktop service.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

7/23/16 Fix that worked for me on Win 10, dl patch from Canon site for my printer, ran the patch, reboot, the scanner now works. Yeah.
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-17-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

This worked for me too!!  Finally!!  

 

Let's hope it doesn't break after my next Windows update......

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

previously, i had installed the latest SW and driver, changed the WIA service (steps below), and it fixed the scan issue but i couldn't initiate the scan via the start button on the imageclass (4370dn).  

 

i haven't done 'extensive' testing but the NetworkUSBScanPatchEN.exe patch from 7/7/2016 appears to have fixed the scan issue on imageclass (4370dn) and i can initiate the scan via start button on the imageclass as well.  

 

in particular, i recall that if you scan, disconnect computer from imageclass, power off imageclass, power on imageclass, reconnect computer to imageclass, then scan again it wouldn't work.  now it does.  

 

i listed steps that i recommend for updating SW and drivers as well.  i'll respond back if i run into issues.  but i have a feeling canon finally (a year later) resolved this issue.

 

 

steps for changing WIA service (in case the NetworkUSBScanPatchEN.exe patch doesn't fix your scan issue):

 

 

  1. Select Start
  2. Enter services.msc
  3. Select the Services Desktop App
    1. Scroll down to Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)
    2. Right-Click Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) and select Properties
      1. Select the General tab
        1. Make sure that the Startup Type is set to Automatic
      2. Select the Log On tab
        1. Select the box next to Local System account
        2. Select the box next to Allow service to interact with desktop
      3. Select the Recovery tab
        1. Select the First Failure drop-down
        2. Select Restart the Service
        3. Repeat for Second Failure and Third Failure
        4. Leave Reset Service After set to 1 minutes
        5. Select the box next to Enable actions for stops with errors
      4. Select Apply then OK
  4. Reboot

 

steps i recommend to update SW and drivers:

reboot

uninstall mf###-###

reboot

uninstall canon mf toolbox ####.mf##

reboot

install mf####-###

reboot

install canon mf toolbox ####.mf##

reboot

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-04-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Respected Sir or Madam,

 

I tried ti reinstall MFTOOLBOX with the disk I had recd with my CAnonm Printer mf4320.But while scanning i getr an Error msg. cannot communoicate with printer. it may be disconnected edtc,

 

 

Kindly do the needfukl and guide me.

 

Thank You & Warm Regards,

GANESH SUVARNA

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-04-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10


@hagaih wrote:

Same here.

I got the MF4890dw all in one.

Toolbox not working after upgrade to Win10.

 

Canon - a response on this thread would be nice.



Respected Sir or Madam,

 

I tried ti reinstall MFTOOLBOX with the disk I had recd with my CAnonm Printer mf4320.But while scanning i getr an Error msg. cannot communoicate with printer. it may be disconnected edtc,

 

 

Kindly do the needfukl and guide me.

 

Thank You & Warm Regards,

GANESH SUVARNA

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-04-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10


@hagaih wrote:

Same here.

I got the MF4890dw all in one.

Toolbox not working after upgrade to Win10.

 

Canon - a response on this thread would be nice.



@hagaih wrote:

Same here.

I got the MF4890dw all in one.

Toolbox not working after upgrade to Win10.

 

Canon - a response on this thread would be nice.



@hagaih wrote:

Same here.

I got the MF4890dw all in one.

Toolbox not working after upgrade to Win10.

 

Canon - a response on this thread would be nice.






@hagaih wrote:

Same here.

I got the MF4890dw all in one.

Toolbox not working after upgrade to Win10.

 

Canon - a response on this thread would be nice.



Respected Sir or Madam,

 

I tried ti reinstall MFTOOLBOX with the disk I had recd with my CAnonm Printer mf4320.But while scanning i getr an Error msg. cannot communoicate with printer. it may be disconnected edtc,

 

 

Kindly do the needfukl and guide me.

 

Thank You & Warm Regards,

GANESH SUVARNA

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement