Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-02-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I have run into this issue with my Canon MF4100...on three different OS's as updated by Microsoft. To fix this for me (latest failure) on Windows 10 was to move my Canon folder in front of a different scanners folder in the `Path` environment variable.

 

For all others who don't know what I am talking about...the *main* fix is to add your scanner/multi-function printer info into a certain directory in windows, then set that directory as one of the first folders in the path. See this answer

Canon Toolbox 4.9 not working with Windows 7(x64) Professional

The advice works on Win 7, Win 8 and Windows 10.

@Canon Support: Update your install program to do a `fix` scenario to add the drivers on the path. Not rocket science; just good customer service.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-21-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Thank you, OmegaMan!  This worked for me.  The MS article you linked gave simple, explicit instructions for adding my scanner's folder to the PATH variable.  I tried it and MFToolbox now works for the first time since I upgraded to Windows 10 over six months ago.  I can scan with MFT and make PDFs as I did in Win7.  Would that Canon Support would have had figured this out.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10


@Tiffany wrote:

Please take a look at our new Service Notice on the availability of a patch to address an issue that prevents certain imageCLASS models from scanning as a result of updating to Windows 8, 8.1 or 10.

Windows Scanning Update for imageCLASS:

http://community.usa.canon.com/t5/Announcements/Important-Windows-Scanning-Update-for-imageCLASS/m-p...


Thank you. The other solutions did not work for me, but downloading and applying the patch for my model solved the problem. After applying the patch, I rebooted and the scanner started working right away.

 

- Mike

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-20-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Thanks a lot OmegaMan. This fix worked for me, too. Now I can scan with my Canon MF4150 once again, after my update to Windows 10. I was almost ready to give up and buy a new printer/scanner.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-14-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

This problem has recurred multiple times and I have spent countless hours repeatedly uninstalling and reinstalling MF Toolbox. I have come to believe the MF stands for two other words.....  I am absolutely sick of dealing with this and the total lack of Canon support.  Tomorrow I will throw the machine int he trash and buy a new system. You can be 100% certain it will NOT be a Canon product.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-21-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

The more things change the more they stay the same.  For a brief shining moment my D530 scanner was recognized by MFT.  I had followed the advice of another contributor here.  Canon, after all, thinks this forum is simply for venting, not providing any usable help. 

 

That community member advice, adding my twain-32 path to the PATH environmental variable worked for a while.  Now, suddenly, that addition is gone and adding it back provides no help.  This is a severe case of Canon not working with MS to ensure compatibility.  I have no scanning capability almost ten months out from upgrading to Windows 10.  Thank you, Canon, once again, for stellar service and concern for your customer.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-18-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Hello,

 

I think I may found a solution to MF Toolbox Problem. I realized that problem starts after Windows update.

 

System and device:

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

Canon i-SENSYS MF4890dw (I think it's a European version imageCLASS)

 

Solutions I tried:

1. Reinstalling drivers (I downloaded newest from Canon website).

2. Reinstalling MF Toolbox (I downloaded newest from Canon website).

3. Installing Patch from european Canon site (it was proper for my device).

4. Added a path in system enviroment variable (found it on this forum).

5. Changed properties in WIA in Windows services (found it on this forum).

 

Nothing worked and I wanted to give up and start using Windows Scan App...

 

The solution that worked for me:

1. Press Windows button an type "update"

2. Go to Check for updates (Windows)

3. Go to "Update history" (just under the "Check for updates" button). Find the latest one that is not for Adobe player or other software - just something like "General update for Windows 10 systems Version 1607 based on CPU x64 (KB3200970)" - sorry for translation, I don't know how it is in english.

4. Go to "Uninstall updates" (at the top) - new window will pop up.

5. See updates group "Microsoft Windows" (in my case it was the lat one) and find the latest update (dates are at the right of the window).

6. The latest one that stands for "Security update for Windows" or "Update for Microsoft Windows" and has the same symbol e.g. "KB3200970" as you found in step 3 should be uninstaled. Just right clik and uninstal.

7. It will take a while, so be patient. After uninstaling, click yes to restart your computer.

8. After rebooting, probably the problem will persist. My computer downloaded the same update I just uninstalled and prompted me to reboot to install it again. After the update was installed again (during rebooting), my Toolbox started working! And I'm also able to use my device to scan directly to my computer.

 

I think it's the proper solution, because it worked twice for me (for the first time I thought that something else helped). Scaning problem with MF Toolbox probably will come back after next update, but I'll be prepared for that :-)

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-05-2014

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Tried adding "C:\Windows\twain_32\MF4800" to my path environment variable. Still no luck. Tried almost every solution in the multiple threads. 

 

If I try to scan from the Scanner --> Computer...  I get the same old "MF Toolbox is not supported on my installed computer. Install the appropiate MF Toolbox". 

 

Even using all the updated drivers, software, etc. 

 

Using the 10/28/16 network patch too.  

 

FSHBpSr.png

 

Tried uninstalling the security update too

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Yes, this solved it for me. Just follow the instructions in the link to put the MF folder under the twain directory into your path and it went fron not working to working. Very poor job on Canon's part. I could understand if the fix is complicated but when it's this simple and your users have solved it for you, it doesn't create a good impression.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Every time Windows does a major update, the MF Toolbox stops working. I've used this solution twice now and it works.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement