cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

promaster macro

okobojichick
Apprentice

I have a promaster lens for my film rebel.  Can I use it on my digital rebel?  Called support and he said it could damage the camera - hmmm - didn't damage my film camera.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

That's definitely EOS mount.  That very thin plastic lip is normal -- all EOS lenses have it and yes, it does just fractionally stick up a tiny bit higher than the gold contacts -- but if you were to compare it to an EF-S lens you'd notice that part of the lens protrudes well beyond.

The lens will mount to the camera body, but the question remains of how compatible it will be with current EOS bodies.  As previously mentioned, Canon does not publish this spec to 3rd parties -- the 3rd party has to reverse engineer it.  From time to time, I'll encounter a story of someone who bought a 3rd party lens which worked with the camera they were using at the time... but when they upgrade to a new model body, suddenly they discover their 3rd party lens doesn't work, but their old Canon lenses do.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

cicopo
Elite

If it has an EF mount it should fir fine. It may not provide perfect optics by today's standards but if has AF it's most likely an EF style lens.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

I very much doubt it could actually damage the camera... but you could have other issues.  Here's why.

When Canon introduced digital cameras, the sensor size was reduced a bit from the size of a single frame of 35mm film.  This kept the costs from being ludicrously expensive (a real barrier to consumers).  So it was actually remarkable when Canon was able to market DSLR cameras to consumers that actually cost less than $1000 for the body and at least one kit lens.