cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

promaster macro

okobojichick
Apprentice

I have a promaster lens for my film rebel.  Can I use it on my digital rebel?  Called support and he said it could damage the camera - hmmm - didn't damage my film camera.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

That's definitely EOS mount.  That very thin plastic lip is normal -- all EOS lenses have it and yes, it does just fractionally stick up a tiny bit higher than the gold contacts -- but if you were to compare it to an EF-S lens you'd notice that part of the lens protrudes well beyond.

The lens will mount to the camera body, but the question remains of how compatible it will be with current EOS bodies.  As previously mentioned, Canon does not publish this spec to 3rd parties -- the 3rd party has to reverse engineer it.  From time to time, I'll encounter a story of someone who bought a 3rd party lens which worked with the camera they were using at the time... but when they upgrade to a new model body, suddenly they discover their 3rd party lens doesn't work, but their old Canon lenses do.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

It says the lens has AF Macro on the side which leads me to believe it's an EOS mount lens BUT I may be wrong. There are so many re branded lenses it's tough to know exaactly what it is.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

My lens looks like the one on the right with the contacts but in addition it has a red dot.  Nothing protrudes beyond the conacts except a small plastic ridge that is right next to the contacts which is just the tiniest bit above the contacts.  IMG_1562.jpg