Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem with 600mm f4 IS 2

Colonel4446
Contributor

Hi all,

I am new to the forum.

I have run into a strange problem with my 600mm mark 2. My high speed burst using 2 differant Canon 7d mk 2's has dropped in burst rate by about 50%. It is roughly now about 5 frames per second on both cameras where normal rate is 10 fps. I am a wildlife photographer and use high speed burst all the time. The only lens I have that this happens with is the 600. All the other lenses the burst rate is right up to snuff.

I cleaned the contacts, checked all the settings on the lens and the cameras. This did not help. This problem surfaced all of a sudden. Last week everything was fine. All other functions of the lens seem to be fine. I also put my 5d3 on it and the burst mode seems ok.

Thanks in advance everyone,

Colonel4446 

20 REPLIES 20

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Can you give us more info....

Are you using "One Shot" focus mode vs. "AI Servo" mode (or possibly even "AI Focus" mode)?

Are you shooting RAW or JPEG (or both)?

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Are you using a better beamer or something with a flash?

Hi guys,

Both 7d mk2's are set up the same. Both cameras have 20-30k photographs through them. One is used primarily with the 600 and the other with a 300 f2.8  2. However both cameras react the same when installed on the 600, slower max burst speed.

I shoot raw, AI servo, spot metering and center point focus. I also use 1.4-3 extenders most of the time on both cameras. However with or without the extenders the max. burst speed is now reduced on the 600.

It does not matter what  other lens I put on these cameras including the 300 they both work fine and have maximum burst speed.

The 600 has never been dropped or abused. It gets bumped sometime out in the bush but never has been bumped hard that would have alarmed me.