cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need help choosing lens

mlove
Apprentice

Hi, I have a Cannon EOS T5i with a 18-55 mm lens and a 55-250 lens. I'm a beginner with this type of camera and need help choosing what lenses to buy.

1. The most important lens I need is to take photos with the subjects closer to me like at birthday or Christmas so I don't have to stand as far away from my subject. What lens would you suggest?

2. I would also like a lens that takes photos of very close up like flowers. Any suggestions?

3. The last lens I need is one that takes photos of deer or landscape very far away.  

Thank you for your help!

7 REPLIES 7

pjmacd
Enthusiast
There are a couple of things to bear in mind as you think about this:
a) the T5i has an APS-C (cropped) sensor, so the focal length of any lens will be multiplied by a factor of 1.6. In other words, your 18-55mm lens has full-frame focal lengths equivalent to (18X1.6 = 28.8mm to 55X1.6 = 88mm).
b) If you are going to be shooting in low-light conditions, a faster maximum aperture (i.e. a smaller f/stop number) will help. The 18-55mm lens you have has a maximum aperture of f/3.5 at 18mm but gets smaller (f/5.6) at 55mm. This is not great for low-light situations.

To address your questions in order:

1. I assume you are doing portrait-type shots at birthdays and Christmas. Most photographers would say that a focal length of 85-100mm (full-frame (FF) equivalent) is the ideal focal length for portraiture, allowing you to get close enough without sticking your camera right in your subject's face. The Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 (FF equivalent 80mm) will do a great job in this situation in low light. Both of the lenses you have can achieve a FF equivalent of 80mm but may struggle in low light due to their relatively smaller maximum apertures.