cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help picking a lens for what i will use it for

Maria
Enthusiast

I'm an amature photographer. i have a T1i that needs to be replaced (likely with either the 70D or the 7D)... and with it I want a lens that will fit my needs... i've read and read about various lenses at different price points and all have their purposes but i can't seem to figure out which would be the best fit for my purpose.

Hoping i can get some advice/recommendations for a lens to use when photographing the following:

1) indoor with low light (and limited to only using a 430EX II flash on the camera, no reflectors, or other sources of light other than what ever is overhead - ie typical home lighting)

2) subject 75% of the time is a child that won't stay still :), the other 25% of the time it's friends and family at someones home or at a venue (again low light)

3) subject is usually 10-15 feet away from me and i want to be able to get a full shot (head to toe) and also zoom in to only get a head shot.

4) i love bokeh 😉

I want sharp images with saturated colors (when they exist in the picture 😉  ). The lens can't be too heavy (i tried holding a 17-55mm and was on the high end of what i can carry -probably don't want to go much more than that for weight).

Any and all suggestions welcome!

21 REPLIES 21

I think Maria might live here in Canada based on her mentioning Henry's (one of our major chains ) . Refurbs aren't that available in Canada either so that may not be worth investigating. As for the 7D it's getting a little old & maybe the 70D might be a better fit based on early reviews / user comments. I shot a 7D for 3 years & the AF is very good and so were photos up to & including ISO 3200 as long as you weren't looking for a big print. As for the 55-250 they are available used almost daily on Kijiji.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."