cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help picking a lens for what i will use it for

Maria
Enthusiast

I'm an amature photographer. i have a T1i that needs to be replaced (likely with either the 70D or the 7D)... and with it I want a lens that will fit my needs... i've read and read about various lenses at different price points and all have their purposes but i can't seem to figure out which would be the best fit for my purpose.

Hoping i can get some advice/recommendations for a lens to use when photographing the following:

1) indoor with low light (and limited to only using a 430EX II flash on the camera, no reflectors, or other sources of light other than what ever is overhead - ie typical home lighting)

2) subject 75% of the time is a child that won't stay still :), the other 25% of the time it's friends and family at someones home or at a venue (again low light)

3) subject is usually 10-15 feet away from me and i want to be able to get a full shot (head to toe) and also zoom in to only get a head shot.

4) i love bokeh 😉

I want sharp images with saturated colors (when they exist in the picture 😉  ). The lens can't be too heavy (i tried holding a 17-55mm and was on the high end of what i can carry -probably don't want to go much more than that for weight).

Any and all suggestions welcome!

21 REPLIES 21

Skirball
Authority

There isn’t a single solution given those constraints.  Especially with the weight restriction.  The weight of the 17-55 is fairly representative of most quality lenses with a decent size aperture (for the low level light you mention).  If you want more reach than that (given the distances you mention you do) then it’s going to get even heavier.

Here’s how I look at your requirements, not in order:

3) based on these distances, and assuming you’re taking pics of children, you’re roughly in the 50 – 250 mm range.