cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help finding a lense for a rebel t3i. i need a good lens for capturing action shots for team sports

luvabeach
Apprentice

Need some advice in finding lense for a canon eos rebel t3i.  I primarily will use it to take action shots for team sports such as basketball, soccer, cross country, etc.  I need a good lense that is not extremely expensive as I am not a professional photographer but I would like to be able to take better pictures and do not want to have switch out lenses.  Please let me know either what to look for in a lense or if you have any recommendations on a good lense to purchase.  Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

See this thread. 

http://community.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS-Rebel/Canon-Rebel-EOS-T3-Camera-with18-55mm-lens-What-other-zo...

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

ScottyP
Authority

The big problem will be any INDOOR sports, because that gets you into the difficult combination of 1.) low light, plus 2.) fast action.  Without getting too far into it, your camera needs a lens that will open up to a big aperture to admit a lot of light for that, and this is pretty much EXACTLY the dividing line between cheap lenses and expensive lenses. 

If your basketball is outside in the daytime sunlight, you are in great shape and you have some good cheap lens options.  Something like a 70-300mm consumer zoom.

Otherwise you will struggle shooting indoor basketball using a cheap zoom lens.   One solution would be to buy a second lens for the indoor sports, a fixed focal length (non-zooming) lens a/k/a a "prime" lens.  Even the least expensive of them have bigger aperture openings than even the most expensive zoom lenses have,  They can be had at inexpensive prices.  They are usually smaller and lighter than comparable zoom lenses, if you care about that.