cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

coin size item photography lens recommendations

jesbroken
Contributor

Hello,

I am new to the board and new to my camera. I have a Canon eos rebel T6 with an ef 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III lens and an efs-s 18-55mm zoom lens that came with the kit. My question is that before I spend the money for a macro lens, can I in the meantime take photos of coins size items. This camera may be over my head, but I bought it with the plans of tethering it to my pc and taking photos on a camera stand of small items, coins included. I am just beginning to learn the menu and selection process so I am truly a newbie. Thanks in advance for your help.

Jim 

20 REPLIES 20

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

You 18-55 has a fairly short focusing distance and should at least get you started with macro photography for your coins.  A camera mount/stand and proper lighting will be very beneficial.

At very close distance, the depth of field will be very shallow which normally isn't a big issue with a very flat item like a coin.  But it does mean focus must be PERFECT to achieve a good image.  Increased lighting allowing you to step down the lens from wide open will increase depth of field and the lens performance will improve somewhat when you aren't shooting wide open so proper lighting will be the single biggest low cost improvement that you can make.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

Thank you Rodger. I have a camera stand with three ott lites, and two incandescents. My granddaughter Ellie decided I needed to move up to a dslr when she picked up and dropped my PowerShot SX530 HS on a concrete floor and it has never came on since. My fault for having it accessible to her. It broke the lens and pretty much ruined the camera. So, I am learning to enter this realm of photography and I'm old so here goes.

Jim 

JIm,