cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

canon EF-S 18-55 random auto focus problem

Terryrebelt2i
Apprentice

Hello

I have been working with Canon EF-S 18-55 NON IS lenes and have found a problem I can't seen to solve. The problem is that I do get auto focus but at certain points it will not focus. I have changed the board with a known good one, The motor assembly, The contacts with good looking ones from working units but not the contact strip as they look good.

The assembly moves freely with little resistance. I have also seen this problem on IS versions too but mainly on the non IS versions.

I'm looking for any other suggestion that might solve the problem.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Terryrebelt2i
Apprentice

Well I finaly figured out what the problem was and fixed 3 lenes.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Bob from Boston,

True I have no first hand knowledge with the EF-S 18-55 but I will guess it is nearly a throw away lens.  At $200 bucks for a new version II, I mean.  Yes, no?

I have no first-hand knowledge of that lens either, and have no reason to doubt your assessment (though I have heard that some of the more recent versions are much better than the original). But this thread was recently re-opened on a discussion of a similar problem with an entirely different lens: the 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, which both you and I have owned and liked. It was in that context that I said what I did.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

No, but the confusion is my fault.  I have the EF-S 15-55mm F/2.8 IS USM..I didn't mean to confuse the topic but this was the only thread that I found that had any discussion on this problem. I apologize.

@kathiemo wrote:

No, but the confusion is my fault.  I have the EF-S 15-55mm F/2.8 IS USM..I didn't mean to confuse the topic but this was the only thread that I found that had any discussion on this problem. I apologize.