cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

any tutorials to properly use canon 70-200 f2.8L is II usm lens?

kertl7779
Contributor

I am a novice, but want to learn properly the use of  canon 70-200 f2.8L is II usm lens. Please help with my question. I am using a canon 60D camera. Thanks

21 REPLIES 21

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

This is a great lens. My most favorite of all time.

There is a great big wide world out there with all kinds of fantastic stuff to shoot. Bolt that lens on and go out and shoot.

Shoot a lot. You will learn form the greatest teacher there is, experience.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thanks for your words of encouragement 

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Are you trying to understand the switches?  

I do not know of any "tutorials" per se, but can run you through what they do and why you'd care.

The lens has four switches on the side.

The top switch is a focus-range limiter.  In the 1.4-infinity position it will use the full range.  In the 2.5-infinity position it will not attempt to focus on close objects.

The next swtich down is the auto-focus / manual-focus switch ... common to all auto-focus lenses.  You probably are familiar with that one already.

The next switch is turns the image stabilization on or off.  All image stabilized lenses have one of these as well, so you're probably familiar with it.

The final switch is the most interesting... this changes the stabilizer mode.  

Mode 1 provides full stabilization and this is the mode that works like just about every other lens with image stabilization.  Most of the time, this is the mode you want.