cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wider prime ef-s lenses

BzOaY
Apprentice
I am pretty new to the dslr seen and am looking purchase the new t7i. After researching about the difference in ff and crop, and learning that ef lenses will work on crop bodies by multiplying by 1.6. Which all makes sense. How come they sell an ef 50mm but not the equivalent in the ef-s? I know they sell an ef-s 24mm but that's all I have found in a prime lens for ef-s. Is there a reason for hardly any prime ef-s lenses? Like I mentioned before I know I can purchase ef prime lenses but then I am paying for a lenses that wouldn't be used as it was intended. Obvious answer is to purchase a ff camera and I wouldn't be having this conversation but I do not have the funds for that as of right now. And I may/may not ever purchase a ff camera. Am I really going to notice a difference in using a 50mm 1.4 lense on a crop camera vs ff Besides depth?
4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I do not see the point in producing a prime lens for EF-S mount, not unless it served a special niche, like a macro lens.  An EF mount prime can be used on all DSLRs.  An EF-S mount prime cannot.  

As for the EF-S 24mm lens, and EF-S mount lens is smaller, which makes is less expensive to produce.  Quality wide angle lenses, with wide apertures, can be costly.  Canon produced a wide angle lens for their consumers using entry level DSLRs.

Many full frame lenses have a better build quality than an APS-C lens.  As a general rule, image quality tends to drop off away from the center of the image circle produced by a lens.  High quality full frame lenses include lens elements to help correct this natural phenomenom.  A crop sensor camera body, will only use the best part of the image produced by the lens.