cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wide angle lens

LANmillwork
Apprentice
Hey all new to the forums. Looking for a wide angle lens for my rebel 3ti. I am a woodworker by trade and sometimes find myself in small rooms that I just cant get into frame. Mainly kitchens. I would like to be able to fit an entire kitchen or room into one picture. Any recommendations would be appreciated.
9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@LANmillwork wrote:
Hey all new to the forums. Looking for a wide angle lens for my rebel 3ti. I am a woodworker by trade and sometimes find myself in small rooms that I just cant get into frame. Mainly kitchens. I would like to be able to fit an entire kitchen or room into one picture. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

What is your budget?  If you are indoors, then available light becomes a factor.

One low budget solution is a good tripod, and Canon’s Photostitch Software.  Combine multiple shots into one larger, highly detailed image.  I like to roll the camera to portrait position.  If I overlap shots by 1/3, three of them yields close to a 3:2 aspect ratio.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

LANmillwork
Apprentice
<600. Was looking at the canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM or EF 24mm f/2.8 IS USM

@LANmillwork wrote:
<600. Was looking at the canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM or EF 24mm f/2.8 IS USM

I forgot to ask what lens, or focal length are you using now that is not wide enough.

Interesting choices.  Are you looking specifically for a full frame EF lens?  The EF-S 10-18mm and EF-S 10-22mm are ultra wide angle lenses for the EF-S mount.  I would recommend the 10-22mm in dirty work environment, because it has a metal body, and internal focusing and zooming.