cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which telephoto lens for the 70D

CCR54
Apprentice

I have a Canon 70D and am interested in a telephoto lens for it. I own an EF18-135 IS, an EF 55-250 IS USM and recently purchased a new EF 70-200 F4 L USM (non IS, that was a mistake). I am thinking about getting the new EF 100-400 L IS II USM but I'm not sure if, for the money, it may be smarter to get the EF 70-200 F2.8 L IS USM and put a 2X extender on it thinking that way I can take the extender off and have a top of the line 70-200. I realize it would be F5.6 at 400mm but so would the new 100-400 and it will never be an F2.8. Any thoughts on the subject would be appreciated, just remember I'm a newbie. Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

My personal opinion, I would pick the EF 70-200mm f2.8 IS II over almost any other lens made. Period! It is that good.

I don't like tele converters in general but that said I do use and pertty much like the way my 1.4x II works with my 70-200mm IS II.  I still don't like the 2x but it works, I guess.

So I reccommend you do get the EF 70-200mm f2.8 IS II but with the 1.4x converter.  I have the older EF 100-400mm and it is an OK lens, not a great lens.  The 70-200mm is going to be far more useful for you.

Besides you can sell the other lenses in favor of the 70-200mmm because you won't use them any longer.

You do know the cost of this upgrade in lenses?  If it doesn't put fear in you, go for it.

How about the 24-70mm f2.8 as a companion?  Now I am really spending your money but that is the dream combo.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Skirball
Authority

If you're going to be primarily using it at 400mm then I'd get the 100-400.  If you're going to be using it in a variety of situations, get the 70-200.  But if you go that route, and plan to use an extender, I highly recommend renting one and seeing how you like it.  Extenders are not without their quirks.