cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which lens to get? 24-70 f/4 vs 24-105

Ltc808
Contributor
I'm brand new to photography and I'm getting the 5D mark iii but I don't know which bundle to get. One comes with the 24-70 f/4 lens and the other comes with the 24-105. The 24-70 is about $200 more. I'm planning to shoot pretty much everything (landscapes, portraits, close ups, etc). I'm not sure which one I should get.

I'm also planning to get a lens for astrophotography a little later on (f lower than 2?). I was thinking about the rokinon 24 mm f/1.4. It's a manual focus and I'm new to all this so I'm not sure (magic lantern?). Lenses with autofocus are way too expensive for me. Any recommendations for Milky Way lenses?

So, would it be best for me to pick the 24-105 and save $200 to go towards an astrophotography lens? And any advice would be greatly appreciated (lenses, tripods, backpacks, flashes [looking at speed lite 430EX III], etc)

Thanks in advance!
31 REPLIES 31

Ltc808
Contributor
I'll be using it mostly for landscapes

If you're mainly doing landscapes, then I'd go for the 24-70.  The on-line lens tool show the 70 has having a more rectilinear image at 24mm than the 105, which can definitley show barrel distortion if you take shots at just the right angle.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

You have two problems.  You read too many reviews and you listen to folks that don't have experience with the gear, in this case lenses, for advice.  A person with the stated goals and requirements should buy the ef 24-105mm f4L.  The 24-70 offers you nothing and it shorts you on the tele end.  Get the 5D Mk III with the 24-105mm as a kit.  Best buy that way.  Later add the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC lens.