cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best way to focus on stars with 24mm L prime lens and of course I am using manual focus.

markrupton
Apprentice

8 REPLIES 8

Skirball
Authority

The best way, is if the moon is out, to focus on that.  If the moon isn’t out, and you have no experience with the lens, is to set the focus somewhere between the sideways “L” and the infinity mark.  I have no experience with the 24L, but I’m sure someone can weigh in.  Better yet though, is to take your lens out during the daytime (or dusk) and focus on the horizon.  Have a look at the meter on your camera and see where it is.  Then just set to there when you’re shooting stars.

Keep in mind that the earth is moving though.  Don’t mistake motion blur for OOF.

Thanks for the tips. Yes I know the earth is moving. With this wide angle lens the focus point are so small. I'm going to use a 90 degree viewfinder attachment that magnifies. Also I can zoom in on live view during the shoot.

Live view probably isn't going to work for that.  I recommend just taking it out in the day time and looking at where it focuses to infinity.  That's why that little meter is there, just line it up manually when you're out shooting and it'll be in focus every time. It'll either be on the infinity mark, or just before it.  If you can move your camera past the infinity mark then it will probably be on it.  Canon puts some extra room at the end so auto-focus doesn't slam up against it when focusing at infinity. 

My comment on the earth moving wasn't meant to be snooty.  You realize that if your shutter time is too long that you will see movement, correct?  And that movement, when shooting stars, looks quite like being out of focus.  People new to astrophotography often don’t realize this, and times as “short” as 10 seconds can produce unsharp stars.  At 24mm you’re probably going to be able to get away with twice that, but still, my point stands.