cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best lens for a starter photographer?

nadineblakeway
Apprentice
I am a starter photographer and have a canon 100D and was was wondering what the best starter lens is? I like to take photos of landscapes, buildings, scenery, people and flowers.
5 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@nadineblakeway wrote:
I am a starter photographer and have a canon 100D and was was wondering what the best starter lens is? I like to take photos of landscapes, buildings, scenery, people and flowers.

A cheap lens, preferably the "kit" lens that came with your camera. Many self-styled advisors, most of them well-intentioned and some of them frequenters of this group, will tell you to buy the best lens you can afford; the lens is what makes the picture; you're making an investment for the future; etc.; etc. Don't listen to them. Once you're no longer a newbie, you'll have a better idea of what direction you want to go, and you can use the money you save now to buy a higher-quality (and possibly more appropriate) lens then. And when you do ask for advice, you'll have a better recognition of who makes sense and who's just sitting there and letting his fingers ramble over the keyboard.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

View solution in original post

Good advice above but if you want to expand on it one of the basic Superzooms is my next recommended step up, such as a 18-200

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

hsbn
Whiz

Check out this Flickr pool: https://www.flickr.com/groups/1410895@N22/pool/

It is 18-55mm Kit Lens group (assuming you're having this one), and there are tons of great photo taken with it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

@hsbn wrote: