cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weird Lines

tatlyne
Contributor

Hi, I'm new to DSLRs and just finding my way around the camera. I'm also practising taking photos with my new telephoto lens (canon: EF 75-30mm) I get a lot of Chromatic aberration and have the correction for it enabled in camera. I'm thinking it's mostly me taking crappy pictures, lol, plus I have an old sd card from an old canon point and shoot (which I'm replacing today). In any case, I'm hoping for help on identifying what these odd brown lines in this photo are (I outlined in yelow) and why they occurred? brown_lines.jpgIt almost looks like a type of shadow from the tree branches? How can I correct for this? Thank you so much for any help you can provide.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Those are tree branches.  But they're close enough that they aren't in sharp focus ... so you see them as strange lines that aren't well-defined.

When you shoot, you want to watch the composition not just of your intended subject, but also keep in mind what will show up in the foreground and the background.  It's fairly common to need to change where you position the camera ... or if you have someone with you, ask them to hold the branches out of the way while you get the shot.

With a point & shoot type camera or a camera phone, the physics of the optics (extemely short focal length lenses) means that the depth-of-field is usually very broad ... this causes the foreground & background to be fairly well-defined in most images.  Wtih large sensor / large-lens cameras, you get a shallower depth of field (which can be used to artistic advantage with the right lenses) and it's less clear why you see this stuff.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

View solution in original post

@TCampbell wrote:

Those are tree branches.  But they're close enough that they aren't in sharp focus ... so you see them as strange lines that aren't well-defined.