cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Used Canon 50mm Lens Question

jenyagute74
Apprentice

Hi guys,

Recently got my camera and have been trying out different lenses. I've heard only good things about the EF 50mm lens so I decided to give it a go. I was ecstatic to find one for only $70 on ebay that seemed to be in good condition so I immediately scooped it up. However, after purchase I noticed a few brandings that I was unsure about. Either on the lens itself or on a filter attached to the lens it says B+W F-Pro. Is this a filter attached to the lens? Or did I get some weird version on the 50mm? I ask because I am completely new to this and the listing doesn't mention anything about a filter.I'm sure it is, just wanted to consult community.

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

Ray-uk
Whiz

That is a filter that is attached to the front, the good news is that B&W make very good and quite expensive filters, the bad news is that you don't really need it on there and in some circumstances it could affect the quality of your pictures. A lot of people use them just to protect the front of the lens.

If you want to remove it then just unscrew it in an anticlockwise direction.

Do you know what specific filter it is?  I personally use the XS-Pro Clear filters and have had zero issues with picture quality.  I use these on my L-series glass as it'd be far cheaper to replace a busted filter than a front element.  But with such an inexpensive lens, this becomes far less an issue.

If the filter you have is of the UV variety, I say ditch it.

Bonus if you ended up with a circular polarizer or even ND.  Those can be very useful but not something you need attached to the lens all the time.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers