cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tripod for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

SHB2019
Contributor

I am looking for a recommendation of a tripod to support this heavy lens without toppling over.  Any suggestions?

30 REPLIES 30

Beware! There is always a critic. Smiley Wink

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

So very true.  Got outside late yesterday to take a few photos.  They are better.IMG_0485.JPG

Long horns.  You must be in Texas? Sometimes they can be  ornery so a 400mm is nice to have.

EB

I don't care for using the Canon 2X extender but I might make an exception if I was trying to get a portrait of a Texas Longhorn in order to get more distance 🙂  I have no fear of standing on football or soccer sidelines but I did my PhD in W. Texas and I prefer my cattle at a distance or as a nice ribeye on the grill.

Seriously, that is a good purpose for the long telephoto lens.  My only constructive criticism is it would be nice not to have Mr. Horns backlit but if you try to run around him to get good lighting it might prove destructive for you and your new lens!  You could also reframe so his horns have a little edge space.  With DPP (or Photoshop) you could bring up the shadows a bit to perhaps get more facial detail but you are limited by the dynamic range of the camera sensor because there just isn't that much room between the noise and clipping levels of the sensor and live animals generally don't hold a pose long enough for dynamic range stacking.

Nice work, I expected your first efforts with the new lens would be with easier subject matter.  Well done!

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

Thanks for the critique. As i was saying to ebiggs1, a friend here in NC owns this herd and I love a golden hour for anything. I'll keep posting.