cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Telephoto for 80D

scottwheeler
Contributor

Just got a new 80D so I can capture sporting event photos for my high school kids.  I am an amateur photographer.  Need telephoto for football, baseball, softball and basketball.  Two questions:

1. What are best options?
  2. Are there resources for finding used lenses?
20 REPLIES 20

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

1.  There are no "one size fits all" best options.  You've just scratched the surface of why there is such a variety of lenses.  If there is such a thing as an "all-purpose sports lens", which there isn't, it would have to be one of Canon's four 70-200mm "L" series lenses.  The range of focal lengths for those lenses are ideal for a full frame camera body, but not quite so ideal for the APS-C sensor body 80D.  A good budget choice would be one of Canon's EF-S 55-250mm lenses.

2.  From a purist point of view, there is no such thing as a good used lens.  There are too many things that can go wrong with a  used lens: i.e.: like mold and mildew, which can creep into your camera body and infect all of your lenses.  Hands down, the best resource for Canon lenses is the Canon Online Refurbished Store.  There are some reputable dealers of used gear, but none of them will give you a one year warranty like Canon will give you.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

" From a purist point of view, there is no such thing as a good used lens."

No different than buying a used car or an used anything.  There are lemons everywhere and there are great deals.  It's up to you to determine which is which.  I have sold many, dozens of lenses used.  I usually ask half price.  Some are used for no more than a week.  Box, accessories and all papers still intact and included.