cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T5i Lenses

meganr77
Apprentice

I am new to DSLR cameras, however, I was given one as a gift for Christmas.  I love this camera, the pictures are beautiful and the color is amazing.  I would like to purchase a telephoto lens to better capture my children during their athletic events (soccer, swimming, etc.).  I am so overwhelmed by the various options and prices I am not sure where to even begin.  I would like to take a class this summer to better understand all of the manual settings but won't be able to do that until summer time.  Any suggestions would be very helpful.  I would like to stay under 500.  

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3

trulandphoto
Enthusiast

@meganr77 wrote:

I am new to DSLR cameras, however, I was given one as a gift for Christmas.  I love this camera, the pictures are beautiful and the color is amazing.  I would like to purchase a telephoto lens to better capture my children during their athletic events (soccer, swimming, etc.).  I am so overwhelmed by the various options and prices I am not sure where to even begin.  I would like to take a class this summer to better understand all of the manual settings but won't be able to do that until summer time.  Any suggestions would be very helpful.  I would like to stay under 500.  

Thanks!

I assume you have an 18-55mm lens. You could consider the newer 55-250mm STM lens which, while a bit slow for sports, is a big improvement over its predecessor. 

They are inexpensive and you could always upgrade later on.

-------------------------------------
http://trulandphoto.zenfolio.com/
http://trulandphoto.blogspot.com/

TCampbell
Elite
Elite