Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-05-2020

Sigma lens inquiry

I have a question, I have just recently bought a used sigma 18-35mm from a retailer for my canon 80d that stated it was for Nikon however I’ve done my research and know that the lens itself supports canon and certain other cameras with an APS-C sensor, by the retailer stating that the lens is for Nikon does that mean that I would need to buy a canon mount or no because I know it does give the option to choose what mounting you need between the two but I didn’t think in my case that it wouldn’t. Does anyone know the answer to this?
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,222
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

[ Edited ]

Greetings,

Sigma lenses are mount specific.  

 

If you have a nikon mount, it won't fit or work with your 80D (period).

 

Return it.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-05-2020

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

Would I not be able to use a canon mount instead?
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,222
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

Absolutely.

 

18-35.png

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-05-2020

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

Is there a specific mount that I need or is it just a plain canon mount
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,118
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

You don't understand. You don't get a mount for a sigma lens. Some lenses come as Nikon mount, and some lenses come as Canon mount. You cannot interchange them.

 

Switching mounts is something the factory would have to do, and I don't know if they can.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-05-2020

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

So no adapter or anything would work there is no way around using the lens for my canon is what you’re telling me I’m not going against anything I get it but all i was trying to see is there a way around it to still be able to use the lens
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,118
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

When you get a sigma lens, you have to ensure that the mount is correct. There is no way to adapt it.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,919
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

"There is no way to adapt it."

 

Actually there is....

 

"All lenses from SIGMA's new three product lines (Contemporary, Art, Sports) will qualify for this paid “Mount Conversion Service”. It enables customers to convert the mount of their current lenses, and we will change the relevant parts for a different mount and its internal core system accordingly."

 

Sigma has offered this service for some time now.  However, I hope the OP knows or realizes this is not a free service. The OP is far better off to return the lens and buy the correct one.  Plus the OP needs to find a more honest or at least knowledgeable dealer.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-05-2020

Re: Sigma lens inquiry

It’s ok I ended up cancelling the order I’m just going to buy the lens today from a vendor that’s selling them. I knew it was going to be a risk getting it and I had doubts that I may or may not have been able to use it or if I needed an adapter I just needed more clarity and y’all gave it to me
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement