Rebel T6 Telephoto Options Advice

EddM
Contributor

New to the Community.

Have the Rebel T6 and 3 lens:

• EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
  • EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III, and
  • EF 28-90mm f/4-5.6

I would like to do wildlife/bird and othe longer distance photography with a 500mm plus lens.

I am a hobbyist/amateur and really cannot afford the pricey Canon lens in that 500mm range.

Am I better of to buy something like a:

• Canon Extender EF 2x Auto Focus
  • Viltrox C-AF 2X Teleplus/Yongnuo YN-2.0X II Teleconverter or similar
  • or even the Canon 1.4x EF Extender III Lens and Teleconverter

to use with the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III

or

Buy an inexpensive manual focus only 500mm like the:

• Oshiro 500mm f/6.3 (T-Mount with Adaptor)
  • Opteka/Bower/Vivitar 500mm f/8 (T-Mount with Adaptor)

I know you get what you pay for and all but would appreciate feedback, thoughts, recommendations.

23 REPLIES 23

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Birding is tough on a budget.

The "cheap" lenses that birders love are

1) the Sigma 150-600mm in the "contemporary" version (Sigma makes the same lens in the "sport" version and it's a better lens ... but it's literally about twice the price.  The "contemporary" is just under $900.  The "sport" is just under $1800.

2) the Tamron 150-600mm ... note that there's the original which is a little less than $900 (and just a few dollars less than the Sigma) but Tamron also somewhat recently released the "G2" version which I think runs around $1400.

And these are the "cheap" lenses (because the lenses they really prefer are $2000 and up.  So the definition of "cheap" is all relative.)