cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon Rebel t2i

roz
Apprentice

I am looking to purchase a telephoto lens for an upcoming safari trip. I'm a beginner photography and don't really what to spend tons of money. I'm looking for guidance as to which lens would be best, 300MM or 400MM and does anyone have any recommendations.

thank you,  

4 REPLIES 4

amfoto1
Authority

There are quite a few telephoto zooms to choose among... depending upon how big and heavy a lens you're willing to carry, how much telephoto "reach" you require, and how much you want to spend.

Canon EF-S 55-250mm IS STM is a very good lens for around $300 new (about $230 refurbished at the Canon USA website). 250mm might be a little short for more distant or smaller wildlife. But this the least expensive lens I'd recommend. You might find cheaper, such as the Canon EF 75-300mm III, non-USM, non-IS. But the EF-S 55-250mm is a better lens with faster, quieter autofocus, closer focusing/higher magnification, and with image stabilization which will be important shooting handheld and/or from vehicles.

Canon EF 70-300mm IS USM "II" is a relatively new model that's a bit higher performance, especially it's autofocus. Costs around $500 new right now, but I saw it sellng refurbished at the Canon USA website recently for a little under $400.

The older EF 70-300mm IS USM is also still widely available and is a pretty nice lens too... Oddly, it's still selling for more than the new "II" version, at about $650 (refurbished $520). 

Both the above are reasonably compact for travel and use in tight spaces.. but Canon also offers the EF 70-300mm "DO" (diffractive optics) that's even more compact. However, it's not really any ligher weight and is rather expensive at $1400. Someone I know shoots with one and I've been impressed with the images she gets with it... though I can't say if it's all that much better than the above.