cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rain gear reliabilty

BillyJack
Contributor

I've been shooting sports for many years now and never had the nerve to trust the rain gear I purchased in a down pour. Soccer and American Football are really the only two sports I shoot where there is a chance of the competition not be postponed due to rain, but when it occurs I run for cover! I don't mind getting wet, but can not afford to replace a lens because I relied on a $20 piece of plastic. The cover I have seams to seal really well around the lens face, but is that part of the lens water tight?

5 REPLIES 5

Skirball
Authority

It's going to depend on what camera body and lens you're referring to.  Even then, Canon doesn't make objective claims of what is ok and what is not (with the exception of actual waterproof point and shoots).  They make vague references to "improved weather sealing" and "weather resistant" on various upper end camera bodies and gear. Then they let the internet banter fluff that up into "water proof' and 'this one is more water proof than that", etc.  It encourages purchasing of the more expensive "professional" (another term that Canon doesn't define or really even use) products because the weather sealing has been made into more than it is through gossip.

But all that doesn't mean a thing, the only thing that matters is what Canon will do when you show up on their doorstep with an unusable camera that shows signs of water damage.  The answer is, you're S.O.L.

As Skirball points out, whether or not the camera or lens have weather seals will depend on specificially which camera body you use and specifically which lens you use.

None of the EOS Rebel bodies have weather seals -- so if you have any Rebel camera, keep it away from water.