cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RF800mm F11 IS STM Images do not seem sharp...ringing around image

dcomora
Contributor

I am new to Canon products and recently purchased an R5 with the the RF 800 fixed f11 lens.  I have been shooting birds over the past few months.   I have been comparing my shots to those I see posted on line and it seems I am not able to get the sharp focus that I see others getting.  I am using the animal eye focus setting, I am shooting at  shutter speeds of  between 1000 and 2000, my ISO is usually never above 2000.   I have the image stabilization engaged and I most recently used a tripod.   When I zoom into my images, I see a little "ringing" around the outside of the birds and birds eyes.   Someone said I should use Topaz AI sharpen to get sharper images, but I am thinking that should not be necessary.  Is it possible that the lens is out of calibration or am I still doing something wrong?  I also have an R 25 - 105 lens and photos are super sharp. Any advice would be appreciated. 

40 REPLIES 40

dcomora
Contributor

So, Canon is shipping my lens and clear filter back and I humbly admit that they determined the issue was caused by my clear filter, a Fotasy 95mm Ultra Slim filter which was very cheap and I think I learned my lesson.  I am awaiting the return shipment of the lens and the question I have, is what clear filter should I be using for the RF 800 F11 lens.  Is there a decent option that is less expensive than the $250 to $350 range that folks are asking for the Canon 95mm Protector Filter?  Is the B&W 95mm MRC #007 Clear Filter any good or are there other options that anyone recommends?   Thanks for all of your advice and help!!!

@dcomora wrote: