cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Novice question

avasile
Contributor

Hello everyone - I am new to Canon world and I learn as much as possible every day. I have a Canon Rebel EOS XTI with the standard 18-55 mm lens.

I would like to move on to the next step and get a better lens(s) - one for close up, portaits (higher aperture) and one for every day use.  Mostly  I take picture of kids and family - so it will be running and diverse lighting most of the time.

My budget is alo limited in the sense that I cannot afford most of teh 1000.00 versions 🙂

Right now I am looking for someting that will give more the f3.5 and more sharp images.

I know everyone asked around but the camera model that I have was not mentioned ... but I am sure that most of the lens should work.

Thank you.

Adrian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Adrian,

Portraits: Anything between 50 and 85 will be good for the portraits if the aperture is f/2.8 or wider. 50 mm would double up as general purpose shooting. 85 mm would double up as a modest telephoto if you shoot the kids running around outside where they are a bit farther away but would be harder to use indoors where you cant stand back 15-20 feet to squeeze 2 people in the shot. 60 mm would be good at portraits but would do double duty as a macro lens too.

Landscape: Landscape is USUALLY done with a wider lens, but not always. For that you might stick with the 18mm end of your kit lens. Landscapes don't move so if you use a tripod you can shoot with a narrow aperture for a wide depth of field in focus (like f/11 or f/16) because you can set crazy-long shutter times, like 1 second or 30 seconds or 1 minute or whatever you need.

General purpose: For the general purpose shots you probably want something wider than for portraits, and you can crop the image a little in post if needed. 40mm would be very good for that.
Scott