cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noob question 2, My zoom lens isn't retracting / extracting.

StevieGMovies
Contributor

Hey guys,

Again i'm a total noob and this may seem stupid but i'm baffled. 

I have a canon m50 - my first camera ever ! 

I have the 15-45mm kit lens. I'm getting some ok images out of it but in auto fucus mode

i thought the lens should be moving in and out and the end focus shoud be turning ? 

Noting on the lens movos, it works for manual as i can extend the zoom.

Am i being a total pleb or is the lens broke / not set up right ? 

Thanks in advance

9 REPLIES 9

I think you're confusing the zoom with the focus. The zoom won't change automatically, and not all lenses move in and out when focusing.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Thank you bob,

How do i find out if the 15-45mm lens should move in and out automatically ? 

It hasen't ever moved in or out automatically since i first put it on. i bought new boxed so didn't

think it would be faulty ? 

@StevieGMovies wrote:

Thank you bob,

It hasen't ever moved in or out automatically since i first put it on. i bought new boxed so didn't

According to the poduct description by canon the lens should retract slightly when you powerd own the camera.

If that isn't happening it may be defective.

"

Overview