cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nifty Fifty

cas1963
Enthusiast

I'm a beginner photographer and I want to add the EF 50mm f/1.8 lens to my bag - I am not intersted in doing video so should I get the older version or the new STM version. I've been online and read the reviews comparing the 2 but in my beginner world would I really notice the difference? I have been seeing some great deals on the older version and that is why I am asking! thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You might be able to close to subjects using the 50mm.  It would naturally depend upon the size of the subject, whether or not you are using an APS-C camera body, and exactly who close you're looking to get.   Did you  notice the link I posted to the lens comparison tool?  Yes, a 50mm gives great shots on either a FF or an APS-C body, but ...  ... compare the specs, too.

The EF 50mm on  a Canon Rebel will give an equivalent 80mm focal length, which is almost ideal for portraits.  With a field of view of about 46 degrees will not give you much "room" to take capture landscapes, although it could be ideal for using a tripod, turning your camera 90 degrees, and constructing a panorama out of 2-5 shots.   It has a minimum focus distance of just over a foot, which is pretty decent.

The EF-S 24mm will give an equivalent focal length of 38.4mm, which is great for taking in the sights.  It will give you an angle of 59 degrees, and a minimum focusing distance of about half a foot. 

The EF-40mm has a misleading "diagonal angle of view" specification of 57 degrees, which is measured corner to corner, not side to side.  It is nowhere near as wide as the 24mm.  I have owned them both, and passed them on to my sons.  The 40 also has a minimum focusing distance of just a hair under a foot.