cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie looking for body and lens recommendations to use in motorsports/automotive shoots

hoosierdaddy
Contributor
Hello all! New to the Canon Community. I've been a hobbyist for a few years with prior experience starting with the A2 and Elan film bodies. In addition to the film bodies I also have a Rebel XT (circa 2003-2005). I took some time away from Canon, and have been relying on my smartphone's (8MP) camera for the last several years. I write an automotive lifestyle blog, travel for motorsports as well as club events, and go any other car event close to me. Looking to get more serious about my product/results, and would like to hear recommendations for a body, and the 1-2 must have lenses as well as any other gear that would be useful for car shoots and motorsports. I still have four lenses: 28-105mm, 85mm, 100mm macro, and 75-300mm ultrasonic lenses from my film days. My thought for the first lens is the 24-70mm II f/2.8 USM for the utility role. Any advice would be most appreciated, and thanks in advance
18 REPLIES 18

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The pecking order for Canon bodies suitable to fast action photography are:

1.  Canon 1D X Mark II (Canon's flagship camera - also it's a full-frame camera) - but out of your price range.

2.  Canon 7D Mark II (Canon's top-performing DSLR with an APS-C size (crop-frame) sensor.

3.  Canon 5D Mark IV (full frame, advanced focus system, and fairly fast with an 8 FPS burst shooting speed and very large internal buffer) - but out of your price range.

4.  Canon 5D Mark III (full frame, fairly advanced focus system, and 7 FPS burst shooting speed with a rather larger (but not as big as the Mark IV) internal memory buffer) - not sure if you could get one in your price range... maybe a used copy.

5.  Canon 80D (Canon's current top mid-tier DSLR - fairly advanced focus system and just below a 7 FPS burst shooting speed.)