cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My EF-s 18-200 IS lens died. Frankly it was the worst lens Canon ever made, horrible vignetting.

Jim0
Apprentice

I want to get a different lens instead for my Rebel xti, or maybe two. I'm an amateur but want good quality photos, mostly landscapes but also close-ups, so I like a versatile lens. I was thinking of going to the L series but considering the cost, is that overkill for both the intended purpose and the adequate-but-not-extraordinay Rebel body? Would appreciate any guidance.

8 REPLIES 8

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I have had five XTi's and used them for 1000's of photos.  I recently just gave away the last one.  I certainly would not have put mine into the, "... adequate-but-not-extraordinay Rebel body?", class!  They are quite capable cameras, don't sell it short.

If you want an outstanding lens for your XTi and save a bunch of money at the same time get the

Sigma APO 50-150mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM.  This lens will give you the same view as the ever popular 70-200mm does for the FF people.

The Sigma APO 50-150mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM is a constant aperture zoom and does not extend externally.

Very nice and very sharp even at f2.8

One reason I highly recommend this off-brand lens is, Canon does not make a 50-150mm designed for the APS-C bodies.

This lens is not going to be as 'wide' as the lens you are replacing so it would require the purchase of another lens along with it.  Such as the Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM.  This would make a very nice combo.

The fact you would be reducing the zoom range is in itself going to make a better, sharper lens.

Either or both of these lenses will stick with you, too.  If, later, you decide to upgrade the camera to a T5i or 60D in the future.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!