cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Macro lens for insects

Dragonwarrior
Contributor

Hello, I am new to the world of DSLR photography. I would like to take pictures of insects, and would like to know what is a good lens to get for a DSLR to be able to take close up macros of insects. Should I be looking for a prime lens or zoom lens? If prime what number, and zoom what range?  I am planning on using a 40d body. I would like to stay not too expensive though.

Thanks

12 REPLIES 12

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Dragonwarrior wrote:

Hello, I am new to the world of DSLR photography. I would like to take pictures of insects, and would like to know what is a good lens to get for a DSLR to be able to take close up macros of insects. Should I be looking for a prime lens or zoom lens? If prime what number, and zoom what range?  I am planning on using a 40d body. I would like to stay not too expensive though.

Thanks

What lenses do you currently own?  

There is a lot more to macro photography than buying a lens.  The least expensive way to get into macro photography is with extension tubes and having a very robust tripod.  I am not a big fan of "close up" filters because they degrade the IQ of the lens.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I have a old EFS 18-55mm canon lens that I could use, which says it can go as close as 0.25m/0.8ft.  But what I would like to know are the kinds of lenses that are out there that would be good to use on macro photography. What is the lowest or highest range of mm I would want to use for this? As I said I am new to using DSLR's, and actually don't have my camera yet, but am planning on getting it soon. Which is why I am researching what I might want to get as a lens. I have not used DSLR's very much so I am learning right now what everything is.

What is an extension tube?

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend