cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Macro+Telephoto?

majestros
Contributor

Questions first then background.

Will the Sigma f/2.8 150mm OS macro with a 1.4x teleconverter provide me with IQ close to that of a nice 2.8 70-200mm telephoto? (so i can just buy the one lens, which is easier to sell to my wife) or do I really need to pick between macro OR telephoto?

If I get a 1.4x teleconverter, should I get the Sigma one or could I get equivalent IQ from the kenko pro300 (which would then allow it to be to used with a future purchase like a 100-400mm Canon). 

Background:

I am looking to make my first expensive lens purchase.  I am relatively new to photography (10 months) but have been taking many photos and maybe even ramping up. 

I love and tend to take mostly wildlife and macro shots.  I purchased a doublet close-up filter which is great for static elements (spiders in webs, etc) but would love a true macro lens that can still capture skittish bugs like dragonflies.  I would say 90% of all of  my photos are taken at 250mm on my 55-259 lens.  I would love to take sharper shots than my current lens allows. 

I have been leaning toward the Sigma 150mm OS macro for its image stabalization and long focal length for bugs and hoping that it could double for a telephoto lens particularly, if I add a 1.4x teleconverter.  (which, at 210mm would get me close to my current 250mm)

I rented this Sigma lens and the sigma 1.4TC to go with it for a weekend and was happy with my results handholding.

I will likely eventually get a long telephoto lens (I'm thinking probably the 100-400mm Canon), and my other expensive lens on the horizon will likely be one of the 15-85 or the 17-55 2.8 Canons. 

Thanks for any adivce or thoughts!

Canon T3i, EF-S 18-55 IS II, EF 70-300L, EF 50 f/1.8 II, 500D Close-up filter, Sigma 150mm OS Macro, 430EX II Speedlite

http://lordmajestros.deviantart.com/
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION