cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for input on lens purchase

Orcrone
Enthusiast

I own the Canon T4i along with three zoom lenses; the EF-S 10-22, an EF-S 18-135 STM and an EF 70-300. Canon has the EF 24-105 F4l refurbished on sale for $639.99 and I'm wondering about pulling the trigger. One concern is the three lenses have a nice amount of overlap that I would lose on the 24 mm end with thiws purchase. I'm not a professional photographer,  but I do occasionally blow up a shot and hang it on the walls.

Normally I leave my 18-135 on the camera. With the 24-105 having less reach on each end of the scale I'm concerned about how much more often I'll be changing lenses.

Are my concerns unjustified? I've never useds an L series lens before, so I'm not sure about how much of an improvement I will see. Will it offset any potential disadvantages?

Thanks

76 REPLIES 76

"Image quality improvement per dollar spent."

Certainly you jest? Or you have not had your morning coffee!  $11,000 vs $2000?

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

It's $3000+ when you add the Tamron lens and in my opinion he will only see marginal improvement in image quality. Especially considering he could spend 1/10 that buying a prime lens for his T4i and get the same degree of improvement for the narrow usage where he needs it.

TTMartin I am totally lost.  Somewhere in this you lost me completely.

ebiggs1 wrote:

It's $3000+ when you add the Tamron lens and in my opinion he will only see marginal improvement in image quality. Especially considering he could spend 1/10 that buying a prime lens for his T4i and get the same degree of improvement for the narrow usage where he needs it.

I was referring to your decision to buy a EF 600mm vs the Sigma S lens.  If you see $9000 dollars worth of improvement than so be it.  I do not having an older 600 and the newer Sigma S.

EB

@ebiggs1 wrote: