cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for a lens (new to photography)

leakymilky
Apprentice

So I am brand new to the photography world and i am trying to learn what I can. Well when i got this camera I did not know that it did not work unless you have a lens on it. While its a tad dissapointing it does make sense in the long run, however with how expensive lenses are and how many types there are its a bit overwelming with what i need. I do know i will eventually need a macro lens for miniatures, but im not sure what basic lens i need for my main goal which is taking pictures of model kits that range from 3-16 inches. 

Any help with what i can use for starting off will be great.

The camera I received was a EF mount type Canon eos 40D  the ef mount is all i was able to learn so far. Again thank you in advance.

5 REPLIES 5

ScottyP
Authority

Hi,

Your 40d is a crop sensor camera. It has a slightly smaller sensor than a "full frame" camera, which has a sensor the same size as an image shot on a strip of 35mm film. 

A Canon crop camera like yours has a mixed-use mount.  You can use EF-s lenses which are made for fit only crop cameras, and which are less expensive (usually).  You can also mount all the full frame EF lenses. Basically, then, you can use like 99% of all lenses Canon makes, except for the few mirror less "M" lenses. 

You have no lens at all.   Normally I'd suggest a macro like the affordable crop lens the EF-s 60mm f/2.8 macro. Or the 100mm f/2.8 macro (non-L) for your model shots but you probably need a walk around lens for general use.  

What is is your total budget?

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend