cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lenses for Canon EOS Rebel SL3

aksarhils53
Apprentice

I'm thinking of buying my first camera, although I have some experience taking photos I have never own a camera. After some research based on my experience and budget I think my best choice is the CANON EOS REBEL SL3. What do you think?

What I'm not sure about is which lenses to buy. Some people tell me to buy cheap so I can practice and others tell me to buy more expensive because later I can used the in other cameras. Also I don't know which sizes is better for me. I like landscape, street and portrait.

Thanks a lot for your help.

3 REPLIES 3

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Go ahead and start with the kit 18-55. While not the best, it is far from the worst.

Once you use it for a while, you can see whether it fits into your vision and, if not, what lenses you might need to fulfill that vision.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I'm thinking of buying my first camera,... I'm not sure about is which lenses to buy."

It is considered best advice to buy the best lens possible.  It is the lens that makes the picture not the camera. The camera is merely a storage device.  Of course that is simplistic but it conveys which is the most important.  But by far and away consensus is, good lenses last and cameras don't.

However, the SLx line of cameras bring a unique consideration to this thought.  IMHO, a person that buys a SLx camera wants a smaller DSLR.  For whatever reason, perhaps a smaller body type or smaller hands, need to carry smaller gear, some other size related reason, whatever. Again, IMHO, for most of us just wanting to start in the hobby the Rebel T8i makes better, more,  sense.