cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens upgrade?

Jason6901
Apprentice

Good day, Canon community. This is my first post. I am upgrading some equipment and would like some suggestions on lenses. I shoot some sports, wildlife and an occasional event. Although I have been paid for a few shots, I am an not a professional. I currently have  the 5d mk iv, 7d mk ii and my trusty 50d & 30d. The lenses I use are the 50mm f/1.4, 24-105mm IS L, 70-200mm f/2.8 L, and the 400mm f/2.8 IS L.

I am considering adding either the canon 100-400mm L II or the Tokina 24-70mm f/2.8. Does any one have any suggestions as to which lens I should add or if I am just wasting money at this point. By the way I also have the canon 1.4 II extender. 

Thanks for any suggestions!

7 REPLIES 7

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Jason,

Two lens I almost always have with me are the 24-70 F2.8 and the 70-200 F2.8 but since you already have the very good 24-105 F4 you MAY not get much use out of a 24-70.  Probably its greatest advantage over the F4 lens is if you shoot fast action in low light (i.e. indoor sports or night high school sports) and it would likely provide a little faster focusing in low light with its wider aperture.  But it doesn't have the IS of your wider range lens so if the low light action doesn't apply heavily then I wouldn't pick up the 24-70 F2.8 and if I did I would go for the excellent Canon version.

The 100-400 is a nice wide range zoom but you give up aperture for the convenience of this wide range lens and I don't think the image quality matches the Canon 24-70 and 70-200 in their respective ranges either but if a one solution lens to cover a lot of situations is important to you then maybe it makes sense.