cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Landscape Photography Help?!

bpsl888
Apprentice

Hey I'm currently a student at an art school in Los Angeles and I was wondering if anyone has any idea what lenses are good for Landscape photography. 

9 REPLIES 9

hsbn
Whiz

Any lens can be used for landscapes photography and it depends on your preferences. But when talking about landscapes, most people think of wide angle lens. Do you like wide-view landscapes or do you like more intimate landscapes? What kind of camera do you have? And what is your budget because there are a lot of option (Canon and third party).

In general, Canon 10-20 (for crop body), 17-40, 16-35 are pretty good wide angle lens.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The thinking is that if you need to "look around" to take in a view, then probably your camera would benefit from a wide angle lens so it can also take in the view.

The one nuance of wide angle lenses is that in addition to a wider angle of view, they also "stretch" the depth of the scene.  Distant objects will seem much more distant.   You can learn to use this to your advantage.  

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

For an APS-C (crop-frame) camera the 17-55mm f/2.8 is a good landscape lens (although you'll rarely need f/2.8 outdoors). For a full-frame camera (5D, 6D, 1DX) I recommend the 24-105mm f/4L. It's commendably sharp, and distortion and aberration are well controlled for a lens with such a long zoom range.