cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues with the EF2.8L 70-200mm USM II lens

lellyk
Apprentice

Hi

I am an amateur however it is a serious hobby and I have been asked to photograph some weddings and decided to invest in this lens.

The results I am getting are shockingly bad.  I understand due to the size of the lens that I must use a reasonably quick shutter speed, however the photos are not sharp.

I have a 70-300 F4 lens which I have been using instead as the results are constantly clear and sharp using the same settings.  The expensive 2.8L gets left at home.  Does anyone know of issues with a particular batch of this lens?  The first one I got fell off my 6D (at a wedding, right at the vows!) and luckily the vendor replaced it, so it makes me wonder what on earth is going on.

Can anyone help with this?

Thanks

Lesley

34 REPLIES 34

The simple answer to your question, IMHO as always, is buy the Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD Zoom Lens for Canon.  If you can't afford the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM Lens that is.  The Canon is enough better in all its specs over all the others to warrant it, to me.  Is it to you? I can't answer that.  If it were me and I had the coin, I would get the Canon.  It has no peer.  If you decide on the Tammy make absolutely sure you get the exact model I listed. There have been several versions and some are not, well, lets say worthy!

Do you have to have f2.8 ?  No?  Well the Canon f4 version with IS is a darn fine lens, too.  If I didn't need or want f2.8, I would buy it as a second choice.  After all f2.8 is just one stop faster than f4.  Just one stop!  If you can stick with Canon.  You will be far better off in the long run.  Stick with Canon!