cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need advice for a new lens I want to buy.!!

NOAhgomes
Apprentice

I bought a Canon T4i a few months ago and I'm new in photography. I'm thinking of buying a new 70-300 aps-c lens that I want to use for nature or wilde life photography. But the lens doesn't have stabilizer and I'm worrying if it's ok for shooting fast moving objects while being a super amateur photographer. Thanks in advance.

7 REPLIES 7

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

What 70-300 lens are you considering? The Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM Lens has image stabilization. A "friend" of mine on this forum gets amazing results from this lens. It is a good buy at $450 and it is all Canon.

"I want to use for nature or wilde life photography"

I would rather see you get one of the 150-600mm super zooms for wildlife photography, Of course they are twice as expensive.  The lens you can afford and use is the best one, however.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Absolotely pin pointy. the 70x300 lens is the best. amazing quality . Um using it myself for different kind of projects, amazing results. (link removed per Forum Guidelines) for downloading alternate playstore for free

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

As stated, the Canon 70-300 II is a good next step up. If you continue with wildlife, you might need to go for one of the 150-600's, but for now, the 70-300 should fill your needs. I have the older 70-300 and it is my second most used lens, after the 18-135.

Third most used is a tie between the 60mm macro and my 150-600, which is only used for special occasions like airshows and when I am on a purposeful wildlife trek like to Yellowstone.