cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need a zoom lens for shooting sports morning and night

IhabAbdelghany
Apprentice

I need someone to help me selecting a telephoto zoom that will help me to get sharp zoom images for football matches morning and night time. I have a Canon 50 D and normal Canon 55-250 IS zoom also I have Canon EF 50  f/1.8 II lens in addition to Canon EFS 18-55 lens.

I am not a professional photographer and would like to get one with a reasonable price

7 REPLIES 7

amfoto1
Authority

"...sharp zoom images for football matches morning and night time...and would like to get one with a reasonable price"

So, let me see if I have this right.... You want high quality results of difficult subjects under challenging lighting conditions, but basically don't want to pay what it costs for such a lens. Smiley Happy

Well, I really don't know what you consider a "reasonable cost", but the ideal zoom for much sports photography in tough lighting conditions is 70-200/2.8 IS USM Mark II. f2.8 is needed for low light shooting. 70-200mm is a pretty good range of focal lengths for many sports situations, assuming you are using it on one of the crop sensor Rebel series cameras.

To save some money, you might consider a used 70-200/2.8 IS "Mark I". That's still a very good lens, if you can find one. There is also a less expensive EF 70-200/2.8 without IS, though it's now the oldest design among the Canon 70-200s, with slightly lower image quality than the other EF 70-200s.... Plus it is very nice to have IS at times, even shooting sports.

All these f2.8 lenses are considerably larger and heavier than your 55-250, too. The 70-200/4 IS and non-IS zooms are a bit smaller and lighter.

Any longer telephoto zoom witth f4 or f2.8 aperture is going to be very large and more expensive.