cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have a Rebel T3i zoom for action shots??

panda2013
Apprentice
I received this camera last year for Christmas. I wanted it to take action shots of my son playing soccer and my daughter horseback riding. It has the lense it came with and I'm wondering if I need to upgrade my lense to get great pictures. I can't seem to zoom in when it's set to action mode is that normal? I'm VERY new to photography. I've read through the users manual but not getting anywhere fast. If it's the lense then which lense would be sufficient for what I would like to do?
7 REPLIES 7

cicopo
Elite

We can't tell you much without knowing what lens you've been using but if you want to shoot day time sports there are a few zooms which can do a good to great job but night sports is a very different thing. Be prepared to dig deep if you're really serious but if you can live with good vs great image quality (No matter which way you go there is a learning curve so allow some time to perfect your technique). On the lower end I'd recommend researching the Tamron 70-300 VC & Canon 70-300 IS. A better lens but also shorter reach wise is the Canon 70-200 f4 L or better yet (& more $) is the 70-200 f4 L IS and even more expensive are the 70-300 L IS & 100-400 L IS but it may be a bit long at the wide end for the soccer. 

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Thank you so much. The lense on it now is ---now bear with me cause I have no idea what this all means!
18-55mm image stabilizer macro 0.25m/0.8ft
I get so mad because I can zoom in and once the picture is taken it's zoomed out...is it because of the lense?

"I get so mad because I can zoom in and once the picture is taken it's zoomed out...is it because of the lens?"