Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-14-2013

Extender 2xiii

Why am I only getting a focal length of 365 when I use my 2xiii with my 70-200?

VIP
Posts: 11,893
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Extender 2xiii

Firstly off, the focal length of the lens itself never changes. It is a fundamental property of the lens.

A Canon 2x tele-extender adds 58mm between the objective lens and the sensor plane. So by definition, the focal length of a 200mm lens is “changed” into a 258mm lens.

This 2x tele-extender magnifies the central portion of the frame 2 times so it gives the same picture as a 400mm lens would.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 787
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Extender 2xiii

[ Edited ]

Very interesting....

 

With my 1.4X ii I get an "effective" 420mm using it on a 300mm lens and an "effective" 700mm using it on a 500mm lens.

 

And with my 2X ii I get an "effective" 600mm when using it on a 300mm lens and an "effective" 1000mm using it on the 500mm.

 

All this is per the EXIF data. (example: http://www.flickr.com/photos/amfoto1/6865952788/in/set-72157622481646019)

 

Rarely use either TC on zooms (too much of a hit to IQ for my tastes), but when I do the results are the same... EXIF shows my 70-200 + 1..4X "becomes" a 112- 280, for example 

 

***********
Alan Myers

San Jose, Calif., USA
"Walk softly and carry a big lens."
GEAR: 5DII, 7D(x2), 50D(x3), some other cameras, various lenses & accessories
FLICKR & PRINTROOM 

 





VIP
Posts: 11,893
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Extender 2xiii

You are probably using a Canon brand converter on a Canon brand lens. I doubt the OP is.

I totally agree the penalty for using one is not worth it. Unless it is just the only way you can get your shot.

If you have to use one whatever the lens brand is, is generally the best choice, however.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Posts: 108
Topics: 1
Kudos: 22
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: Extender 2xiii


@seazr wrote:

Why am I only getting a focal length of 365 when I use my 2xiii with my 70-200?


Unless you have tested it, making sure you are zoomed out all the way, I'ld say it's likely you're moving the zoom ring slightly as you make the photo. I frequently think I'm at maximum focal length only to get back to the computer and see that I'm not quite out there.

-------------------------------------
http://trulandphoto.zenfolio.com/
http://trulandphoto.blogspot.com/
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-14-2013

Re: Extender 2xiii

I do believ you are right. I did find one image that was a full 400 focal length so, no surprise--it's operator error!!!!!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-24-2013

Re: Extender 2xiii

I am unsure as to why you are having an issue. I have this same setup and used it all summer in Alaska with no issues.
There is no try, only do or do not! ~Yoda

The only person that can truly affect your journey is yourself, listen to your gut instinct and prosper! ~Thomas J.W. Sellberg
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement