cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS EFS 10-18mm

john_star_man
Apprentice

Hi All,

I'm new to photography & getting to grips with my EOS80D + 10-18mm. My interest is seascape/ landscape. I've noticed that in a large % of my images I have issues with lens flare even when I have back to sun or sun is not even in image or obscured by thick cloud. Is this a known problem. I've attached a sample image to show you the issue - this is a full size crop from a problem image. In this instance sun was in image which has exacerbated problem

Really appreciate any help - thks,  John

Camera_ lens flare problem

14 REPLIES 14

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

That is not flare, that is cruft in the lens or sensor, it probably needs to be sent to Canon for cleaning.

Many thanks for you quick response. The camera / Lens is pretty much brand new so I am suprised it would be so dirty - I have had a UV on lens since new. Looking at the lens I can't see any dirt. Also I don't see such issues if I take shots inside etc.which makes me think its not lens or sensor dirt?

Thks,  John

Check out this review by Ken Rockwell:

https://www.kenrockwell.com/canon/lenses/10-18mm.htm

Where he specifically looks for flare. I see no indication of what you are seeing.

(If the link gets scrubbed, google Ken Rockwell Canon lens and scroll down to the lens.)

I think it is scattering off of a bunch of particles. Besides, he says that he sees it when his back is to the sun, a hood won't help there!

@kvbarkley wrote:

I think it is scattering off of a bunch of particles. Besides, he says that he sees it when his back is to the sun, a hood won't help there!

You don't have to have the sun in your FOV to get flare. All you need is a spot bright enough to reflect off the lens and then off the back surface of the filter.