cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS STM Lens

BigJake93
Contributor
Can the EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS STM Lens be used for macro. The resin I ask is because I am new at macro and don't know if I will enjoy it. So I don't want to get a dedicated lens as of yet. So I figured if I can use this lens for it I can also use it for other things as well expecially if I decided not to peruse macro or if I do wish to this one can still serve a perpus.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I just tried my 55-250mm STM lens with my extension tubes and the Macro results are very good.

Do a search on ebay for "Canon Auto Extension Tubes" and there are all kinds of them available for as little as $20.

Ebay Auto Extension tubes

Here is the uncropped photo taken with my 55-250 STM of a USA quarter that is actually larger than 1:1 lifesize 

IMG_0016_800.jpg

Mike Sowsun

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

ScottyP
Authority
Hi Jake.

The 55-250 is not a macro lens, and not even one of the ones that are kind of close to shooting macro.

You can look into extension tubes, which mount along with a lens if you do not want to get a dedicated macro lens.

Dedicated macro lenses are fixed focal length lenses (primes) like 60mm or 90mm or 100mm or 180mm. There are no macro zooms as far as I know.

That does not mean you can't use extension tubes on your zoom lens, it will just be a little tricky. You will want to set a focal length and leave it alone - don't zoom around- or it will change your minimum focus distance which might mess you up. With macro you want a long lens anyway, so just peg the zoom at the 55mm end and leave it alone.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites