cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF-S 10-22mm vs 15-85mm

calilove27
Contributor
I've received some great answers and advice on here, so I'm back for more (:

So again, I just bought a Rebel T3i with the 18-55mm lens kit. I've recently asked for some lens suggestions regarding that majority of the time I take landscape photos, but I still take photos such as sports, portraits, and cityscapes. In addition to that, I'll be taking a trip to Las Vegas and Los Angeles this summer, so one of my focuses while I'm there is taking night photos of the city lights. I have no knowledge about taking night photos, but I'll be doing some research and I'll try to learn everything as quickly and effectively.
With that being said, quite a few people on here recommended that I get the EF-S 10-22mm lens. Others also recommended the EF-S 15-85mm. I've researched both lens and they both seem great for the type of photos I take and I would love to purchase both, but I'm somewhat on a budget.
What I'm thinking is should I just keep the 18-55mm kit lens and add the 10-22mm lens, or switch it around and get the 15-85mm in addition to the 18-55? or the third option and sell the 18-55mm kit lens and buy the 15-85mm?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

amfoto1
Authority

I don't like the 10-22mm and 15-85mm combination.... With only a couple lenses in your kit, that's too much overlap. If it were me, here's what I'd do....

1. Get the 10-22mm USM ($650 new, $500 or less used... plus lens hood $32 OEM, $20 3rd party... Total $520 to $680.)

2. Sell the 18-55mm (you probably won't get very much money for it, likely less than $100, depending upon version. The IS is newere & better than the non-IS version. The STM & IS version is newer & better than the IS version).